top of page
Writer's pictureDaniel Taylor

Formula 1 Head-to-Head Graphic

 
A head-to-head comparison of Tsunoda versus de Vries

I am a massive Formula 1 fan, and I enjoy looking into the data of lap times and analytics to use for my F1 Fantasy. At the time of this post, it was announced that one of the teams, AlphaTauri, was replacing one of their drivers for the Hungarian Grand Prix onwards. Nyck de Vries was replaced by Daniel Ricciardo due to poor race performances during the first ten rounds of the championship, and I wanted to explore the data between him and his now former teammate, Yuki Tsunoda.


F1 does these head-to-head graphics when comparing teammates and their performances across the season. I wanted to recreate one for my own and compare the performance of de Vries with that of Tsunoda. The final version is visible above and the inspiration is shown below. I changed the 4th criteria (Podiums) since that was not applicable to the AlphaTauri drivers: neither had finished higher than 10th. I changed this to "Average qualifying gap to teammate". I calculated this by comparing the times of each driver in qualifying sessions they both have taken part in, then if the driver had a slower time to his teammate, calculating that time. Afterwards I find the average across all times, i.e. de Vries has been 0.421 seconds slower than his teammate Tsunoda on average. That, compounded with all the unfavourable stats, was what led to his sacking.

A head-to-head comparison of Red Bull teammates, which was the basis of my inspiration. © Formula 1

Σχόλια


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page