top of page
Writer's pictureDaniel Taylor

Mum Birthday Animations

 

When it came to my mother's birthday, I wanted to make some sort of animation to celebrate the big 50. I decided on two animations: one that is inspired by TikTok collage edits, and the second inspired by a popular scene in SpongeBob Squarepants, namely Season Three's Krusty Krab Instructional Video, the scene where the narrator introduces the Krabby Patty in a triumphant manner. Since YouTube Shorts cannot embed in Wix, links to both animations are at the bottom.


First Animation

I chose Morten Harket's Can't Take My Eyes Off of You as the backing track as there is already a popular TikTok edit and format of the collage. The timing of the song is easy to time the cuts as well. From there I picked 12-14 photos to use in the video, then imported them into Photoshop. I used Photoshop to cut out my mum from the pictures so I have two versions of photos. Then using the song to time the cuts together.


Second Animation

For the second animation, I wanted to make a funny animation and the Krusty Krab Instructional Video scene came to mind immediately, see here. Since the original episode came out in 2002, obviously the quality would be limited, so I had to reverse engineer the background from scratch to remake it. By creating three layers of different shades of blue, adding them to After Effects, duplicating each so they rotate in separate directions, then adding a gaussian blur over all layers, led to a very close recreation of the original background. In hindsight, I could have used a lighter blue instead of pure white but all in all I was pretty happy with this background.


From there, I tried to match the timing of the 50 text zoom to the original video with the burger. The slow dramatic zoom of the text made the scene just as funny as the original, and my mum loved both animations!


Links:

First Animation: https://youtube.com/shorts/Qkvh90NcDZY?feature=share

Second Animation: https://youtube.com/shorts/soyN-0w3pmg?feature=share

29 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page