top of page
Writer's pictureDaniel Taylor

Race Track Animation

 

During my penultimate semester in Breda University of Applied Sciences, I had a Free Elective course which allowed me to do any project to develop my skills. I wanted to expand upon my After Effects skills and try to recreate the Formula 1 race intro near 1-to-1. The track which was the basis of this animation was a race track on Grand Theft Auto V (GTAV), RON Raceway. This track was made by the creator Broughy1322, someone whose community I am very involved in.


The main inspiration that I used to recreate was the race intro for the 2021 Dutch Grand Prix. While I could not find the exact video used, below is a link to the Dutch broadcast that uses the same graphics:

This was the first time I worked with using "3D models" in After Effects. I say with quotations since these 3D assets were not proper 3D models. The goal with this project was to use Blender to design 3D models to and import them into After Effects. It was here when I realised that AE did not have native support for .obj files, which Blender was using. I had to improvise and render these as 2D faces, and manually build the 3D shape in After Effects using its transform tools.


Overall this is my favourite animation I have made to this day, because of the hours I have sunk into producing it. With my online brand, I do these more often with Broughy1322 and others from his community.

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page