top of page
Writer's pictureDaniel Taylor

Capstone Research Paper with ASTP

 

My final graduating project was a research paper for my internship company from two years ago, ASTP. My research was to investigate how the COVID-19 pandemic has affected the members of ASTP and their media habits. The goal was to see if there are ways to improve ASTP's services and programmes.


This was both a qualitative and quantitative study, using Twitter data to analyse the impressions and engagement of ASTP's tweets between 2019 and 2022, as well as using surveys to ASTP members to get their opinions on various parts of media and ASTP in general.


I collected Twitter data by manually exporting each month from Twitter Analytics, then merging each spreadsheet into one master spreadsheet, so I can analyse total impressions, total engagement, and average engagement rate per month. This data was then presented in a table.


From the qualitative study, I again used Excel to analyse Likert scale questions and compare two variables together. For open-ended questions, I used KHCoder, a text analysis tool. I used a co-occurrence graph to analyse the relationships between common words, which helps me identify common themes and ideas that the responses have. Below is an example of one of the graphs this programme made:

This graph shows the common answers for the question of "Why do you enjoy Online events with ASTP?" The different colours represent subgraphs: different networks of words commonly appearing with each other, with the thickness of the connecting lines representing how often they appear together in a sentence. The size of the circle represents the frequency of this word appearing in the data. To give an example, Subgraph 01 (the cyan network) has the theme of accessibility, with words such as "attendance, possible, allow, alternative". It suggests that respondents find online events very accessible, more easily fitting to their own schedule since they do not have to travel to location to attend these events.


As this research paper was an academic one with direct use for a company, I have chosen not to share the paper for the time being. Regardless, I hope this showcases the level of analysis I went through.

0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page